Skip to content

Tutorial- In Field Techniques

March 6, 2011

Here is the video tutorial that started this madness.

It took soooo many nights of mistakes to get better at shooting stars.

Focus problems, exposure length problems, noise problems, tripod problems, foggy lens problems, missing media card problems, problems, problems, problems. But, on each trip, I got closer to getting a good shot. With each mistake I made, I knew not to make that mistake the next time.

So that’s what this video tutorial is mostly about. Giving you the knowledge and heads up to avoid all the first mistakes I got caught up doing. I don’t want you to waste all the gas and sleepless nights I did on mistakes that can be easily avoided. This isn’t an exhaustive how-to on shooting stars, but it’s got the basics on how to get started, and how to get moving in the direction of getting the star shots you are imagining.

After watching this, take a look at the rest of the video tutorials on how to process the shots you got.

From → .

One Comment
  1. Thank you very much Ben for the clarification about the F stops/ISO. I am new to star trail shooting and seems like I didnt hit it quite right in the few times i gave it a shot… (double meaning, ha!)
    I was always off with my ISO/F stops, so thanks for clarifying.

    Also, I agree 100% about the infinity “issue” with the Canon cameras. I have noticed that too while shooting with my Canon 5D.

    Keep up the good work!
    Zohar

Leave a Reply

